Traveling to Italy during Covid-19: What you need to know before you go



Editor’s note: Coronavirus cases are in flux across the globe. Health officials caution that staying home is the best way to stem transmission until you’re fully vaccinated. Below is information on what to know if December 9.

If you’re planning to travel to Italy, here’s what you’ll need to know and expect if you want to visit during the Covid-19 pandemic.

The basics

Italy is currently in a state of emergency because of the pandemic. Although the country has emerged from a third-wave lockdown, case numbers are being continuously monitored, and individual regions could bring back restrictions at any point — as some already have.

After being hit hard in the early stages of the first wave, the country was one of the first to reopen to visitors in 2020. For 2021, entry is largely limited to residents of the European Union, plus a select list of non-EU countries, including the United States, Canada, Japan and the United Kingdom. The entry regulations differ depending on a traveler’s vaccination status and whether they’ve recently recovered from Covid.

On November 26, Italy banned arrivals from South Africa and seven other countries in Southern Africa, following the discovery of the Omicron coronavirus variant.

Since December 6, a tightening of rules means it is now difficult for unvaccinated people to carry out day-to-day activities.

What’s on offer in Italy

This is one of Europe’s big hitters, known for its historic cities of art such as Florence, one-off wonders such as Venice and the seat of the Roman Catholic Church in Rome.

Incredible food, fantastic wine, unspoiled countryside and a string of beach resorts mean it’s always in demand.

Who can go

Italy’s borders have been open to visitors for most of 2021, with some restrictions in place. The entry regulations were updated on October 25, and are valid until December 15.

Countries currently allowed in are divided into two lists:

List C is for Europe: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark (including Faroe Islands and Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira), Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

List D comprises the following countries: Australia, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, UAE, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Israel, Kuwait, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, UK, Korea, Singapore, USA, Uruguay, Ukraine, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao.

The rest of the world is …read more

Source:: The Mercury News – Entertainment

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *