A Week In Vermont On A $38,000 Salary


Welcome to Money Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Calling all entrepreneurs: We want to hear from you! If you’re a freelancer or self-employed, we’d love to feature your Money Diary. Submit here.

Travel Diaries: We’re looking to get the inside scoop on when, where, and how our peers are using their vacation days. Open to tracking your travel expenses during an upcoming trip? Email us at traveldiary@refinery29.com.

Today: a School Zero Waste coordinator who makes $38,000 per year and spends some of her money on fruity Mentos.

Occupation: School Zero Waste Coordinator
Industry: Municipal Government
Age: 26
Location: Vermont
Salary: $38,000
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,138.58
Gender Identity: Woman

Monthly Expenses
Mortgage: $550 for my share (I split home expenses with my boyfriend.)
Loans: $0 (My degree was paid for by scholarships, and my parents and I bought my car used with cash.)
401(k): $45.12 (Taken out of my paycheck — I contribute 3% and my employer matches 4.5%.)
Supplemental Injury Insurance: $13.86 (My employer pays my healthcare premiums in full.)
Heat and Hot Water: $10-$200 (Depending on the season. I split with my boyfriend.)
Wi-Fi: $25 for my share (Split with my boyfriend.)
Electricity: $20 for my share (Split with my boyfriend.)
HOA fees: $65 for my share (Split with my boyfriend.)
Cell Phone: $50 (Sent to my boyfriend, M.’s, dad — I’m on his company’s plan.)
Spotify: $10.59
Gym: $23.31
Vermont Public Radio: $9
Donation to Local Women’s Shelter: $5
Netflix, HBO, etc: $0 (We use M.’s parents’ accounts.)
Savings: $320 (Sent automatically to an Ally savings account.)

Day One

6 a.m. — My alarm goes off. I pull my dog up and under the covers to snuggle with me for another few minutes. Five minutes later M.’s alarm goes off. M. makes the bed and I start coffee and feed all the pets (we also have two cats). I don’t really have a skin-care or makeup routine, but I try to at least wash my face with water and put on SPF in the morning. We both dance around the kitchen preparing breakfast and lunch for ourselves. I make a smoothie (vanilla oat milk, banana, a couple dates, peanut butter, moringa powder, and protein powder) and a quick coleslaw (cabbage, a little mayo, a squeeze of lemon, salt and pepper, and a couple scoops of leftover quinoa) that I’ll add to a …read more


Source:: Refinery29

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *