How to delete your Google search history on various web browsers

steven john

You should delete your Google search history on various web browsers from time to time.
You can quickly clear your Google search history from desktop browsers as well as from a mobile device with these steps.
By adjusting the settings of your Google account, you can dictate what type of search data Google will maintain in the first place.

When one thinks about reasons for clearing Google search history, the first thoughts are probably about content of a salacious nature. That or to keep those surprise party or anniversary vacation plans a secret, of course.

But erasing stored Google searches is about more than keeping your past search habits private from a supervisor, spouse, or parent — and besides, there is always the option of using Incognito Mode on Chrome and Private Window on Safari to avoid a visible store of your searches.

More importantly, when you delete your Google search history, you remove all sorts of information that could potentially be used by shady characters. Beyond the funny videos, the news stories, the trivia, and other content, think of how many times you have searched for an address, a phone number, information about an employer, and other data that could help a hacker steal your identity, find you in person, and other unwanted outcomes.

So should you delete Google history? Yes, from time to time, you should. And you should also control the types of searches Google saves in the first place.

For the record, Google the company will still maintain data on much of your search history, logging how often you search for certain topics, for example. While perhaps disquieting, at least know that any data they maintain even after you delete your search history will never be openly displayed on your computer or mobile device.

That said, here’s how to delete your Google search history on Safari, Google Chrome, and your iPhone device.

How to delete your Google search history on Safari

Start by opening up the Safari browser and going to Google.com. And make sure you’re logged into your account.

1. On the task bar at the top of the screen, hover over the word “History.”

2. At the bottom of the drop down menu, hit “Clear History…”

3. Select the range of stored searches you wish to delete, from “the last hour” to “today” to “today and yesterday” to “all history.”

4. Hit “Clear History.”

How to delete your …read more

Source:: Business Insider

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *