A Week In Charlottesville, VA, On A Joint $149,000 Salary

News

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a consultant working in healthcare who makes $71,000 per year ($149,000 when combined with her husband) and spends some of her money this week on tickets to see The Grinch.

Occupation: Consultant
Industry: Healthcare
Age: 27
Location: Charlottesville, VA
My Salary: $71,000
My Husband’s Salary: $78,000
My Paycheck Amount (Biweekly): $2,073.48
My Husband’s Paycheck Amount (Biweekly): $2,274.75

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1,235 (for a TINY one-bedroom apartment)
Student Loan Payment: $500.18 ($362.50 for mine, the rest are his)
Car Loans: $650
Hulu: $12
Netflix: $11
Playstation VUE Streaming Service: $45
Internet: $50
XM Radio: $14
Billie Razor Subscription: $9 every other month
Utilities: around $100
Health, Dental & Life Insurance: $151.98 (each; taken out of our paychecks)
Car Insurance: $138.86
Rental Insurance: $14.75
Phones: $75
Pets: $130 (for food/treats/occasional days at daycare)
Storage Unit: $125 (We moved from a 2,200-square-foot house to a 649-square-foot apartment, so most of our stuff is in storage or really weird places in our apartment.)
Savings: We’re trying to save around $4,000 a month right now since we just moved from North Carolina. We sold our house and made $50,000 a few months ago, and we’re trying to save to about $25,000 more before our closing date in the spring on the house we’re building.
Retirement: We’re not putting money into the 401(k) while we save for a few months, but then we’ll go back to contributing. Our company puts in 1% right now.

Day One

7 a.m. — Alarm was set for 6 a.m., but of course I’m not up until 7. I don’t know why I keep pretending I’m going to wake up from that alarm. I washed my hair last night so I don’t have to do much today — I put on makeup, run a straightener through my already straight hair just to get out some weird kinks, and I’m out the door. (My husband gets up earlier and takes care of the dog.) On the way to work, I reload my Starbucks card ($10) and order a toasted white chocolate mocha. $10

12:30 p.m. — I didn’t make anything for lunch today, so I run down the street to Chick-Fil-A. $7.86

1 p.m. — As I’m eating lunch, my friend and I nail down plans to see the new Grinch movie tomorrow night. I grab the tickets ($16) …read more

Source:: Refinery29

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *