A video shows how gummy candy is really made — and it might make you think twice about eating it


gummy bears

Tons of people love gummy candy, but not everyone knows how it’s made.
A Belgian filmmaker uploaded a video showing how gelatin, an ingredient found in most gummy candies, is made from animal parts.
Gelatin, while off-putting, is actually not unhealthy.

Gummy candy is one of the more popular candy choices out there, and it isn’t hard to see why. With adorable shapes and a sweet taste, gummies seem like an innocent and fun treat.

But some fans may be surprised to find out that the way gummy candy is made could be considered unappetizing, some might even say gruesome.

Thanks to gelatin, gummy candy is usually not vegan.

Vegans probably already know that one of the main ingredients in gummy candy is usually gelatin.

According to Live Science, gelatin is “a collection of long, stringy animal-based proteins called collagen, which bond together in three-stranded helical structures — similar to the two-stranded helices of DNA.” To make gelatin, animal parts like bones, horns, and skin are boiled for an extended period of time.

Gelatin is odorless and tasteless and therefore added to foods like gummy candy and Jell-O to make them bouncy and rubbery. According to Bon Appetit, it’s elastic and is “perfect for adding a bit of semi-solid jiggle to things that would otherwise be runny liquids.”

A Belgian filmmaker made a video documenting how gelatin is made.

To help you understand more thoroughly how your favorite candy’s ingredient is made, Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens created a short film that shows, in detail, how gelatin and gummy candies are made. Kneepkens shows us the footage in reverse, beginning with someone happily eating gummies and ending with the pigs in which gelatin is sourced from. The video is hard to watch and is certainly not for those who have sensitive stomachs — or anyone who ever wants to enjoy gelatin candy again.

This is only one video in a series Kneepkens created called “Over Eten” (On Food). Each video shows a series of reversed images to reveal the truth and backstory about a food item you eat on a regular basis without thinking twice about. There are also videos on sugar, black pudding, lamb burgers, pastries, and mozzarella, just to name a few.

Gelatin isn’t actually unhealthy.

Although the process of creating gelatin is stomach-churning, the ingredient itself isn’t unhealthy.

Medical News Today reported …read more

Source:: Business Insider

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *